Welcome To Preakness Stakes Wagering

This is Preakness Stakes Wagering, the best site for betting on the big race that serves as the second leg of the Triple Crown of American Thoroughbred Racing!

We offer the best betting lines, tips and previews of the marquee event and give our readers all the insider information they need to win big at the Preakness Stakes.

Held annually at Pimlico Race Course in Baltimore, Maryland, the Preakness Stakes is a 1 3/16 mile race on a dirt track for three-year old geldings. Run since 1873, the purse has increased from its initial $1,000 offering to an astounding $1.5 million in 2015.

The Preakness Stakes is fondly known as “The Race for the Black-Eyed Susans”.

The logo for the 140th Preaknes Stakes in 2015 with the race’s traditional color scheme of yellow, black and red.

The reigning champion is American Pharaoh, the living legend who captured the first ever Grand Slam of American Thoroughbred Racing. This included incredible victories at the Kentucky Derby, Preakness and Belmont Stakes along with a wild win at the Breeders’ Cup Classic to wrap up the winningest season of any horse in the history of the sport.

American Pharaoh was ridden by Victor Espinoza, who also rode 2014 winner California Chrome. Espinoza became just the fourth jockey to win in back-to-back races at the Preakness Stakes, and the most recent since Pat Day won three times in a row from 1994-1996.

The winningest jockey in Preakness Stakes history is Eddie Arcaro, who dominated the course over an incredible career. He posted wins at Pimlico’s marquee event in 1941, 1948, 1950, 1951, 1955 and 1957. With six wins, he resides comfortably ahead of Pay Day’s 5 total victories.

The fastest time recorded at the Preakness Stakes was by Secretariat in 1973 with a pace of 1:53:00. When American Pharaoh won in 2015, he did so with a time of 1:58:46 in adverse, muddy conditions.

American Pharaoh wins in 2015 with Victor Espinoza's arm raised high
American Pharaoh wins in 2015 with Victor Espinoza’s arm raised high

Surprisingly, Secretariat does not own the record or the largest margin of victory. That distinction belongs to Smarty Jones, who sprinted to a massive lead of 11 1/2 lengths in 2004.

The 141st Preakness Stakes will run on May 21st, 2016 and one again serve as the second leg of the Triple Crown.