Preakness Stats and Interesting Facts

The 142nd Preakness Stakes is just over a week away and will be run at Pimlico Race Course in Baltimore, Maryland on Saturday, May 20. Pimlico Race Course is the second-oldest racetrack in the country and opened on Oct. 25, 1870.

Kentucky Derby winner Always Dreaming will get much of the attention in pursuit of the Triple Crown, but there are four other Derby runners taking a shot at him and seven additional ‘new shooters’ that will be fresher for the Preakness.

Kentucky Derby entrants in the Preakness Stakes

Always Dreaming, Classic Empire, Gunnevera, Hence, Lookin At Lee

New Shooters in the Preakness Stakes

Cloud Computing, Conquest Mo Money, Lancaster Bomber, Multiplier, Royal Mo, Senior Investment, Term of Art

Pimlico Racetrack

Here are some additional interesting facts about the Preakness Stakes as you handicap and review information for the upcoming race and second jewel of the Triple Crown.

The Preakness Stakes has not always been run at Pimlico Race Course. Over 100 years ago it was run in New York, the Bronx and also on Coney Island, NY. The Preakness was also run before the Kentucky Derby 11 times, and the current spacing of the Triple Crown races with the Preakness 2 weeks after the Kentucky Derby has been in place since 1969.

  • In the last 27 years, the Preakness was won by a horse that ran in the Kentucky Derby 24 times. Just three winners did not run in the Derby.
  • The Preakness post-time favorite has won the race 72 times in 141 runnings.
  • When looking for a big long shot in the Preakness, know this: No horse sent off at odds greater than 23-1 has ever won the Preakness Stakes. Master Derby won the Preakness at 23-1 in 1975.
  • Legendary racehorse Secretariat holds the record for running the fastest time at the Preakness Stakes, at 1:53. Secretariat, however, wasn’t officially named the record-holder until 2012 when the Maryland Racing Commission reviewed a videotape of the race and decided Secretariat’s original winning time of 1:55 was incorrect.
  • The Black-Eyed Susan Blanket, awarded to the winner of the Preakness, was first presented in 1940. The blanket measures 18 inches wide and 90 inches in length.

Now it’s up to you to figure out who will wear it as the winner of the 142nd Preakness Stakes!



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>