Rachel Alexandra

Former Preakness Stakes winner Rachel Alexandra will be inducted in to the National Museum’s Hall of Fame this year. Joining her will be another legendary mare in Zenyatta. Trainer Steve Asmussen and jockey Ramon Dominguez will also be honoured.

Rachel Alexandra holds a lifetime record of 13-5-0 in 19 races. Her wins include the aforementioned Preakness Stakes, Haskell Invitational, Kentucky Oaks and the Woodward Stakes. She was well regarded for routinely running against the boys and beating them at big races. In 2009, she was awarded the American Horse of the Year.

In this season, she also has a daughter running in the three-year old campaign named Rachel’s Valentina who was sired by former Preakness Stakes winner Bernardini. Rachel’s Valentina is the new favorite to win the 2016 Kentucky Oaks now that Songbird has bowed out.

Zenyatta is the consensus pick as the greatest female horse of all time. Her crowning achievement was a win at the 2010 Breeders’ Cup Classic. With a lifetime record of 19-1-0 in 20 races, Zenyatta’s only loss was a the 2010 Breeders’ Cup Classic, a race she lost to Blame. Other distinctions for the champion female include a statue outside Santa Anita Racecourse, three American Champion Female Racehorse awards (2008-2010), and American Horse of the Year (2010). In the history of this sport, there simply has been none better on the female side of thoroughbred racing.

Steven Asmussen is a two-time winner of the Eclipse Award for Outstanding Trainer (2009 and 2010). He has won two Preakness Stakes with Rachel Alexandra and Curlin, and has grossed over $251 million in career earnings. Asmussen also boasts 7,287 wins in his illustrious career. In the 2016 Triple Crown season, he is submitting Creator and Gun Runner, the latter of which has an outside shot of winning the Kentucky Derby after stunning wins at the Risen Star and Louisiana Derby.

Ramon Dominguez owns 44 graded stakes victories, and led all jockeys in wins during the 2001 and 2003  seasons. He was the overall leading rider from 2009-2012 in the state of New York as well. He is also a three time winner of the Eclipse Award winner for Outstanding Jockey, earning the distinction in 2010, 2011 and 2012.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>